Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this prompt claims that evidence suggests that student honor codes are more effective means of preventing cheating than the previous method of having professors observe their students. Referencing statistics over the past few years, the statement relies on incomplete facts and erroneous statstical measurements.

To begin, the evidence points to a small case study with Groveton College. The university adopted an honor code. Under the preceding system, professors reported roughly thirty cases per year. As a result of the new system, reports dropped to twenty-one cases in the first year and as low as fourteen within five years. Unfortunately, this statement is an embellishment of the true nature of reason for this decrease in cheating. I hypothesize that the professors took a decreased interest in proctoring their students once the school announced a formal shift in test-taking procedures. After five years, the professors became increasingly less interested in assuring that their students did not cheat and the numbers support this claim. Teachers want to teach; monitoring their students is a monotonous task that they were required to do as a part of the role. Once it was dismissed as a responsibility, the instructors likely turned their back to antiquated practice. Founder and CEO of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, gained notoriety for cheating on his Art History exam while he was enrolled at Harvard. While it was an exam that could be worked on at home, Zuckerberg ignored the school's honor code and used his website as a platform to gain insights on his curriculum. Many students use the absence of proctor as an opportunity to cheat.

Furthermore, the prompt purports that students enrolled in Groveton stated that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without one. Again, this is a weak and unsupported claim. It offers no counter argument to how students feel with faculty members observing them during exams in lieu of an honor code nor does it give any input on the format of the survey. For example, the survey could have asked a simple yes/no question asking whether students would be more likely to cheat with an honor code. This questionnaire is biased and evokes a yes response thus creating a lobsided data point. Further, if the survey had students input their names this would affect the responses: no student would admit to a tendancy or predisposition to cheat on exams. Had the argument described a survey asking insightful questions about cheating tendancies juxtaposing an honor code compared to observant teachers, this would have made an adequate supporting argument.

Constrastly, the author may be correct in suggesting that honor codes fare better in terms of cheating. There is something about swearing on a creed that resonates with students. Nonetheless, the argument bases it's reasoning on fallacious logic and does not provide convincing evidence.

The prompt's statement that honor codes discourage cheating moreso than observant mediators relies on false assumptions. It may be factual, but without convincing evidence, it is nothing more than conjecture.