Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developi

Laws are system of rules and regulations which helps to maintain peace and harmony in a society. This a topic of debate among different political parties whether to make laws flexible enough to make changes according to the different situations or not. I agree with the former one, the laws should be adjustable as per the situation and should be in pace with changing time. I would like to explore this in the following essay.

First and foremost, laws give sense of security to people of society. There are different laws according to the type of crime committed. However, punishment should be given keeping in mind the intention of a crime being committed. For example, whether a crime is done intentionally, by mistake, or just for fun. There are various aspects which has to be taken into consideration by judge before giving punishment to a person. Thus, the laws should be flexible so that various circumstances are taken into account.

Besides this, taking examples from history there are many laws which are changed with time. For example, China has one child law in order to control the nation's population. According to this law, every couple should have only one child. However, after the earthquake, the Chinese government is thinking to revise this law. Therefore, laws have to be changed for the progress and development of society. Moreover, with change in time, law related to property distribution to the heir of family have changed. Earlier, elder son or sons of the family had right to the parent's property. But, with time women started asking for their share in the parental property. So the laws changed and now all children have equal right on parental property. There is also new concept of will of the dying person. As per will property is distributed. It is clear that with changing time it is necessary to make amendments in laws.

Last but not the least, defined laws help judges to make correct verdicts. But, there should be some flexibility that should be given to them. I would like to explain this with the help of an example. Same crime is committed by two persons, one person committed it intentionally for money and other person committed it in self defense. In such a case, flexibility in laws provide judges to make cogent decision keeping in mind the circumstances.

To conclude, laws should be flexible enough to make it easy for judges to make correct decision. In this way society will prosper and also justice will be served.