In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

This is a debatable topic whether people should step down from the leadership after certain period of time. Though, they are doing justice with their role. In my opinion I agree with the author that power should be given to the person for the limited period of time, not necessarily five years. This duration can be increased or decreased. It is common practice nowadays in the government as well as in the organization. There are certain reasons which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, the monarchy was replaced by the democracy in most part of the world because people find the latter one more effective way to make progress. The policy of changing the leader after a certain period of time ensure two things. First, the person in power knows the detrimental effects of not doing his job correctly. He will strive do best whatever job assigned to him otherwise he will be removed from the position. Second, there is always possibility that when another person is given chance he may come up with better ideas to make progress in the nation or in the organization. Therefore, leadership should be changed after certain time frame.

Besides this, it is an exhilarating feeling to make people dance to your whims and fancies. This feeling of power makes people to misuse their power. Nowadays, it is common to read headlines about embezzlement, forgery and corruption in national dailies. These news are proof that some people misuses their power. So, the rule of stepping down from the leadership ensures that the corrupt person will be removed from the position and there are chances that the honest person will be given oppurtunity to take nation or organization on the path of success.

Lastly, there are many new graduates passing every year in the market it is better to give chance to these freshers as they have knowledge about the latest technology. For example, if the head of the computer department in the school is a teacher who had passed his graduation 10 years ago. It is better to give chance to the fresher to become the head of the computer department so that he will teach the latest technology to the students. Thus, the school as well as students will benefit from this change.

In conclusion, those who are in power should step down after serving certain period of time as it will give others' chance to make progress and also the person in power will do his job religiously.