Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

There are many components which acts as contributing factor to make leaders successful. Whether leaders are required to be competitive or cooperative to be successful is a topic of debate among the people from different walks of life. I believe that both the factors are important to be a good and efficient leader. I would like to explore this further in the following essay.

First and foremost, in business world leaders are required to be competitive. In today's world where there is cut-throat competition among companies, it is difficult to survive if the people in high positions are not competitive enough. The feeling of competition acts as motivation to make progress and development. It helps to perform work with efficacy. If leaders are motivated to make their organisation number one in the local or global market, then they will act in that direction with zeal. This is in turn makes the society and nation to make progress. For example, there are many brands available in the market for the same product. Thus, competition is very high, if the leaders of the organisation are not competitive enough then new products launched will not be able to survive in the market, as it requires great effort to sell the product to customers, when options are already present in the market. This efforts come from the sense of competition.

Secondly, I would like give one more example to bolster the point that competition is a vital factor for a leader to become successful. Take the examples of students, nowadays, there is very tough competition among students. In such situation, competition helps them to pay attention in their studies and do well in the examinations. If there is no competition then no student will put much effort to understand things properly because they do not have any motivation to pass the exams with flying colors and to attain first position in the class. Thus, it increases the understanding of knowledge they gain and helps them to achieve desired goal.

Last but not the least, as discussed above competition is significant to excel in any field, however, there are certain areas such as politics, humanitarian field or people within an organisation, where sense of cooperation and willingness is more important factor for leaders to possess. Leaders in field of politics act towards the benefits of people of society. If the political parties do not cooperate each other, it will be very difficult for a nation to prosper. In such cases, the willingness of leaders plays vital role for any society to develop. Moreover, in an organisation, a project is successfully delivered to the client, with the cooperation of team members. Here the duty of the leader is to make sure that people within different teams work with cooperation. Otherwise, it will be difficult to manage the work and to finish it within given time-frame. For example, if the development team does not cooperate with testing team to make the code error free then it is hard to complete the work efficiently. In such case, leaders steps in and makes sure that people from different team cooperates each other.

To sum up, it is important to have competitive attitude in leaders to make company successful. However, in government or jobs related to the public welfare, a leader should have cooperative nature as it promotes growth and prosperity of the society. Therefore, the leader should possess different characteristic as per the demand of the situation.