Modern transportation and shipping has made the world a better place to live.

There are both positive and negative aspects associated with the life that modern transport facilities provided us. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement that modern transportation made our world a better place to live in. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore further in this essay.

To begin with, in today's world, one of the major reasons for an increase in environmental pollution is vehicular emissions. Specifically, air pollution increased in the past few years to a greater extent than ever before mainly due to the harmful gases that modern vehicles emit. For instance, recent research says that people who use petrol vehicles often are more vulnerable to respiratory diseases. My personal experience is a compelling example that supports this research. I still vividly remember how my brother suffered due to breathing difficulties after traveling using his vehicle for travel continuously for three years. Thus I feel that modern transport brings greater harm to human health.

Secondly, Modern vehicles also affect marine health and groundwater quality. Especially, large ships that carry petrol containers from one place to another cause greater harm. For instance, the recent news about the leakage of crude oil in the sea from the cargo ships that are on the Bay of Bengal led to the death of about 50 different fish species. Moreover, the intrusion of this polluted seawater with the pure water below the ground made the water undrinkable for the people around that place. Hence, instead of making the place better, modern transport made the situation close to that coast worse.

Thirdly, Humans are becoming lazy because of the transport facilities. We started to avoid walking even to nearby places, instead we prefer to go by bike. This not only harms the environment but also health. For example, I've seen my neighbor suffering from diabetics due to his lack of physical exercise. He used to go to work by walking about 10 years back but after the vehicles start to come to the markets, he bought one and the problem starts then. As he started to use it extensively, his physical exercise started to decrease drastically. Accordingly, vehicles make humans lazy.

Thus, I strongly believe that modern transportation makes the world a bad place to live by bringing pollution in their necessities such as water, air. Also, it brings a lot of diseases that further make life harder.