Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is no shortage of debate about whether it is better for young adults to get independence from their parents as soon as possible or to stay with their families for a long time. In my opinion, it is advantageous for young adults to get independence from their parents as soon as possible. I think this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, independence from parents means that a person can take their(mistake) own decisions. When a person takes his own decisions and is independent, he is happier and more successful. For instance, my best friend wanted to be a professional athlete. But, his parents were forcing him to become a lawyer like his father so that he has stability in his life and is safe. His parents told him that no matter how hard he tries, he will never be able to become a professional athlete. My friend left his home and worked alone to become the man he wanted to be. He trained hard for two years and proved himself in various competitions. As a result, he enjoys a successful career as an athlete, lives a luxurious life and meets celebrities and other well-known people on a regular basis. In addition to this, it was only possible because he took his own decisions and became independent. I strongly believe it is worthwhile to become independent from your parents.

Secondly, parents provide us with a safe environment to live. They cover us with this safe warm blanket that is the comfort zone and protect us from the evil of this world. Young adults need to put themselves out there in the world to leave this comfort zone. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to feel very comfortable living in my home because I had food on my table and never used to run out of money. Later, I joined a university and took admission in the on-campus dormitory. I started facing many difficulties as for the first time in my life I had to learn to cook, do my laundry and perform other daily work to sustain myself. Moreover, I used to run out of money frequently and had to compensate for that by working part-time. As a result, I learned various skill sets like managing expenses, doing household chores and time management. I understood that to survive and sustain myself in this world I will have to work very hard and developed gratitude for what I had or achieved. Accordingly, I think independence opens up a person to various possibilities.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that freedom from parents for people is very important. It gives young adults the power to make their own decisions, introduces them to hardships and helps in their overall growth and development.