The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The author of the memorandum has concluded that the viewers to the late night news program has decreased due to the reduction in the time devoted to the local and weather news . He put forth the increase in the complaints from the viewers on the coverage of local and weather news , the cancellation of the advertising contracts with them as the reason for his stance . Though the argument may look rhetoric, it has a raft amount of loops and holes and needed to evaluated further to make it a convincing one.

To begin with , the author has made an assumption that the complaints from the viewers on the local and weather news is only on its coverage , however it is possible that the viewers might have questioned the veracity of the information provided by the news program on these categories , if this is the case then the argument falls apart as it states that the argument maintains that the complaints is due to the coverage , the author may argue against it stating that the complaints received recently are mostly on the coverage since the inception of the program , it can be countered by stating that the few articles on the candor of the information they put forth has been severely castigated by an article leading to reduction in the viewers.

The author has made assumption that advertising contract has been cancelled due to the time devoted for the local and weather news , However it is possible that the news broadcasting television may be a national one not an international one and the advertising company might have desired to reach a TV station that is international one , so that it has coverage across the seas , if this has merit then the argument falls apart , as it owes the contract cancellation to the time of telecast of the local and weather news. If the author argues that the TV station is the international one, then it can be weakened by attributing the reduction in number of viewers to the contract cancellation.

In conclusion , the argument as it stands now , is filled with unwarranted assumption and the conclusion at present is unpersuasive at the best and specious at the worst , thus leading to the rejection of the proposal from the business manager.