We all work or will work in our jobs with many different kinds of people. In your opinion, what are some important characteristics of a co-worker (someone you work closely with)? Use reasons and specific examples to explain why these characteristics are important.

Having worked in about ten different firms for the past few years made me to notice a number of charcteristics among my co-workers. Out of all these characteristics, I've always felt happy and satisfied working only with the people who possessed a higher level of honesty, integrity.

To begin with, honesty is the important characteristic for any person working in a group. A person who is honest always adds value to the company or group in which he works and gets more benifit than others. Moreover, he cannot be easily bribed to get any illegal work done. I have to say that my very own experience is a compelling example of this. When I worked in a confidential project, I always disscussed my ideas with one of my co-workers not even to my family and others in the group as they may reveal it at some part of time unknowingly. I've seen people bribing that person to reveal the details about our work in my absence but he didn't do so. This prevented our work from going in the hands of wrong people and once the work is completed, he was not only praised but also given a promotion that one cannot get very quickly. Thus it's worthwile for a person to be honest to his co-worker at any cost.

Secondly, integrity can be defined as doing the right thing when no one is watching you. A person with integrity can be also be termed as a responsible person. Most of the jobs especially goverment jobs which cannot montior people regulary requires this kind of person. For instance, in large projects where it's difficult for a boss to monitor every person working under him, if one of his workers did not do his/her work then the progress of the project may be halted. In such a case, it's only because of this person the company gets affected but also the other workers who may lose their pay becuase of his neglegence. Accordingly, people without integrity in mind may cause harm to his co-workers and company.

Thus, I strongly believe that it is necessary for any person who closely works with me to posses the integrity and honesty for a peaceful work relationship with me and for betterment of the company.