In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on repo

The author of argument is suggesting to improve the road conditions of the Prunty County, as the same measures were taken in Butler County and it helped to decrease the number of accidents on road. At first glance, the argument seems to be convincing. But when given profound thought, there are many loopholes in it.

Firstly, it is given that speed limit of Prunty County is changed from 55 to 45 miles per hour but the number of accidents has not decreased. There may be certain reasons to it. Maybe the number of accidents of whole area of Prunty County is taken into account, whereas, only speed limit of highway roads are changed. It may be the case that accidents on highway are decreased. But the accidents in residential or inner area of the County are contributing to the increased number of accidents. Therefore, the report does not justifies that measure taken is not effective, as it is not properly reported. The report should clearly mention the number of accidents on highways and on other roads of County.

Secondly, the reports of highway patrol are indicating that drivers are exceeding the speed limit. This is suggesting that strict driving rules should be implemented in Prunty County. Additionally, it may be the case that terrain of Prunty County is hilly, thus more strict traffic rules will contribute to alleviate the situation. Perhaps Butler County's traffic rules are strict contributing to less number of accidents. Moreover, maybe in Butler County the driving test is difficult to clear, therefore, the drivers are well trained. Hence, there maybe necessities of these measures in the Prunty County too. This can help to lower the number of accidents on road.

Lastly, the author is giving idea to do road maintenance in Prunty County, as was done in Butler County. Before taking this measure the condition of highways in Prunty County should be checked. It is not mentioned in the letter that roads of Prunty County needs maintenance. Just because something worked in Butler County does not mean that it will also help to ameliorate the condition of Prunty County. The road maintenance will need large amount money, and there is no guarantee that it will assuage the condition of road accidents. Again, as discussed above changing the traffic rules may help to control road accidents.

To sum up, the suggestion made by the author is not well thought, as aforementioned reasons clearly indicates that the idea is not cogent. Before doing any road maintenance other factors should also be given fathom thought.