The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

The passage concludes that skateboarding should be barred in the Central Plaza so that business will return to its high level. The author highlights the problems caused after increased popularity of the skateboarding. While at first reading the argument seems quite conceivable, the closer look spells out many assumptions that could undermine its assertion.

Firstly, the author states that number of people coming for shopping at plaza have been decreased and there is exponential increase in popularity of the skateboarding. The reason given by the arguer does not seems substantial, as the number of people coming for skateboarding might be interested in shopping in this way the skateboarding should prove profitable for the shops at the Central Plaza. There may be other reasons contributing to the decrease in business at plaza. Perhaps the products of shops are not liked by potential buyers. A survey should be conducted to know the valid reason behind the drop in purchasing, as the popularity of skateboarding should contribute in the business positively and not vice-versa.

Secondly, the arguer asserts that there is increase in amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Maybe some antisocial people are contributing to such activities. In such case, security of the plaza should be increased. More number of guards should be appointed in order to maintain the decorum of the shopping center. Moreover, maybe the trash is thrown by the shopkeepers. All these reasons maybe contributing to the decrease in number of shoppers coming there. Proper scrutiny of the shopping center should be done, before blindly blaming the people coming for skateboarding. Additionally, the author has not provided any evidence regarding this issue.

Lastly, the author has not provided any statistical data or any survey report. The argument has no evidence to ratify its assertions. Thus, there is no guarantee that closing the skateboarding in the plaza will result in increased sales of the products. However, there are chances that closure of skateboarding will result in more loss of the shops in the plaza, as it will result in decrease in number of people coming there. Therefore, before making any decision all the factors should be considered and cogitative thought should be given to it.

To conclude, though it seems that the author has done some research before backing the prospect of closing the skateboarding at the Central Plaza in order to increase the profit of the business of the shops, an in-depth scrutiny reveals that none of the arguments put forth are backed by exhaustive analysis; thus, providing little credible support. As it stands, the recommendations look flawed in multiple respects and may not give the results as the author expects.