"No field of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and experience to that field of study."

This is a debatable topic whether any field of study makes any remarkable progress without help of outside branches of studies or not. Maybe there are subjects which are result of combination of core fields. I personally, however, believe that it cannot be said that all fields are result of outside knowledge. I would like to explore this in the following essay.

First and foremost, there are certain branches of subject which are dependent upon the knowledge of other branches of subject. For example, atomic physics, in order to have deep comprehension of this field one should have good understanding of chemistry and mathematics. To know about nuclear reactions, it is necessary to know about chemical periodic table and to calculate the energy of the reaction, mathematics is needed. Thus, atomic physics requires command of core subjects. Otherwise, it will be difficult to make advancement in this area.

Besides this, there are examples where a field does not require any help from outside fields. Mathematics is one such subject on which many fields rely. But, it is not seen that a mathematician needed some outside information in order to prove any theorem or to make hypothesis. Therefore, it cannot be asserted that all subjects are dependent on outside knowledge.

Lastly, savvy and erudite scientists from history made big discoveries and inventions without much apprehension of other fields. I would like to explain this with help of examples. Issac Newton invented calculus mathematics without dependence on other fields. Albert Einstein, father of theory of relativity, gave this theory by making observation of time and space. He performed imaginary experiments.

To conclude, it is not necessary that there is any reliability on other fields to make progress. While, there are branches of subject which are product of core subjects, on the other hand, there are fields which are making significant advancement without outside cognizance and experience.