The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. further, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The customers of Happy Pancake House have been served with margarine instead of butter. As the business manager suggests, they are not complaining about the change; this does not account for their appreciation for margarine. There could be numerical reasons behind such behavior.

The explanation suggests that 98 out of 100 customers are happy with the change. However, the basis for such conclusion was because 2 out of 100 people complained. There is no possibility of knowing if the other 98 people were happy or simply did not care to complain. Also, the situation in which the study was conducted needs description. Custoemrs could be in rush during busy hours to complin about their food preference or they may be taking take out orders for which they cannot give feedback immediately. Inaccuracy of explanation of collected data is present. For example, if a child is asked if they like going to school, few may say no. However that do not account for the neutral position of children who cannot weight between their likings for school playground and dislike for study. There may not be any extreme case such as they are happy to go to school.

Secondly, the study do not include the type of complaint they are getting for replaced use of margarine instead of butter. As the study did not conduct the satisfaction rate among customers rather only confined itself to collecting number of complaints, the graveness of compliants could well illuminate the actual scenario. If complaint comes from customers saying that it has allergic reaction to margarine, while other customers may be just bearing with the widespred change, this can compromise the reasoning.

Thirdly, the servers have reported that the customers did not complain that butter is being replaced by margerin. The explanation although accepting of reasoning such as the customers inability to distinguish margarine from butter did not explain if they were happy with the change. Additionaly, servers who are reporting the effects is a vaugue term as other servers may have been getting complaints which are not reported. They may be milking their superior with positive feedback, while others may be feeling indifferent to the whole situation. Thus, there is no way to know the ones not reporting did not get any complaints.

The explanation omits any different scenario and restrains itself within a set belief. Thus, although their expalantion is plausible does not account for the whole scenario for inaccuracy of explanation of collected data, detailed discussion of the opposite scenario and lack of validation of data source.