Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The universities and colleges should give equal importance to sports and social activities like classes and libraries. So, I agree with the statement. The culmination of all life aspects is needed to teach students of future life lessons including specialized learning and trades.

I believe the colleges and universities have a large potential to influence young minds and curate them to be able to become successful in future life ventures and sports and other social events can help them with certainty as students can utilize their academic learning in the vast areas of life. For example, I have a friend at my university who has been too engrossed in arranging social events and cultural programs. His academic results were not above average. So, when participating in a prestigious design and build competition for an international level, the academic authority could not find better arranger than him. He might have been a low achiever in the academic field, but with his extracurricular qualifications, he was a perfect fit and so was proved after our team finished their work within deadline with all resources closely managed by our friend. Hence, it is important to value both academic works and resources such as classes and libraries as well as non-academic parts such as sports and events. The reason is to be able to cope up in the practical world where nothing strictly follows rules of classes and library knowledge and hence, funding for these aspects of universities and colleges are equally important.

Moreover, the college funding that is granted for an institution is based on the college or universities overall achievements that include better results in social events, sports achievements and competitive results in different programs and so on. For example, I have found that Florida State University although an academically excellent university to take higher education, emphasizes much more on their sports teams as the achievements of the university team is astonishing and thus provides them superiority in performance results alongside its well-known research and academic prowess. Thus, it is fair to say that while funding for the institution is based on an evaluation of all aspects including class performance, library resources and effectiveness and performance in sports and social events, it is required to make a contribution to all constituent parts equally.

The educational institutions such as colleges and universities are the birthplace for young leaders and intellectuals. While specialized learning in classes and library contribution in students life cannot be extrapolated more, students also need a healthy balance of sports and social events to prepare them for life outside this institution. so, both should be equally rewarded with funding from the college fund.