Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Human life have become much more technology based then before and there is no denying that the present children are far less fortunate to get boundless fields and outer spaces to roam around play in their leisure. Consequently, I completely disagree with the statement that says playing computer games is a waste of time and so children should not be allowed to play them.

The human life is a an exhausting loop of work and stress. So, needs a healthy balance of additional family time and enjoyable times with friends and one's ownself. Children are no different. These days, children have to learn a lot of subjects and go through huge amount of pressure to be competitive and in many cases are pressured to win in those competitions. All these aspects of life creat mental strain for these young minds and so they need relaxation times. For example, I have two cousins of eight and twelve years of age. They are very well behaved kids with better results in academics and extra-curricular activities. I have also seen them play a pre-fixed time on their home computer and they seemed to love this idle time specifically. Hence, it was evident that although they liked to perform on their daily goals for life, a downtime playing computer games was much appreciated by them. Consequently, my reasons are that children should be allowed to play a fixed amount of time on computer games if they choose to do so.

On the other hand, many of the available computer games are highly educative. I remember once encountering a word-puzzle game which included some pretty hard vocabularies and I had a great time learning those. Let's also not to forget the competitive world of computer games industry as all the existing companies try to introduce elements of life in their games that help better acquaint the players to certain knowledge that would be hard to experience in the hectic lifestyle of these people in real time. There are many strategy games that require much analytical analysis capability and holistic understanding of the situation that encourages to learn and practice new techniques also highly valued in the practical world. Hence, my point is that computer games can be a place to study arts, history, analytical and other abilities that takes years and lots of money to learn in real life. The upside of this is that all of this learning is fun and so can help children learn on them without much efforts from parents and teachers.

Therefore, I conclude that I disagree with the statement saying that children should not be allowed to play computer games as the games can be rewarding time for the kids to relax and feel good. Also, there is a lot to learn from different available computer games that are valuable life lessons as well.