Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Enlighting human mind is the virtue exclusively credited to education and while formal education system has been considered imperative to impart all necessary understanding, it oftentimes lacks the freedom to creativity through its restrictive implications. Thus, formal education has a restrain on freedom of thought more than it is helpful to cultivate mind.

The formal education has been the creation of previous luminaries who worked creatively to create a system that helps maximize the gain of knowledge at optimal efforts. The initiation was to make peoples mind and spirit free from superstitions. This was also successful in its efforts, but with time the effects died down. Education system like every other aspects of society needs reform with changing time. But formal education restrain to make this changes that is usually based on mass people’s choice much like the superstitions that were widely regarded in the past.

In addition, education also aims to make people into a collective organization of similar attitude and understanding. In ancient India, the education was specifically reserved for richer population in demographic. The idea was to form their educational incentives and life morals in consistent harmony that provides for well-behaved and efficient social population. Also, the lower economic demographic were regarded as uncultured. However, the true moral of the education system lies in making people realize each others contribution and have open-mindedness toward learning form nature.

Therefore, Education should be aimed to extend people’s understanding of life and environment. The true meaning of education involves understanding of the society and make careful choice derived from observations about what should be done and what can be done. But, formal education intends to limit this personal enlightment and understanding by predisposing formed decisions. Thus, the formal educations perspective is to make accepted decisions which may leave the issue of right and wrong over circumstances unattended altogether. Take exam policies for example, formal education emphasizes on exams more than the process of learning. The student sin such system cannot comprehend the weight of the learned subjects over the terror of exam results.

However, formal education system as well established by the intellectual individuals performs to be an effective tool for forming young minds to be consistent with social norms and customs. It is inevitable to create chaos if people keep acting on their own disregarding standard acceptance as well. Thus, formal education should be used with continuous reforms to make it accustomed to free mind and spirit of the educators.