Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

There is no shortage of opinions regarding if formal education limits our ability to think or set it free, what makes this issue a contentious one. While each opinion has its strengths and weaknesses, I strongly believe that formal education is essential to empower us to analyze and propose solutions to several of the daily problems we face in our lives, thus freeing our minds and spirits.

First of all, there is no doubt that formal education provided by schools and universities gives us many important tools to tackle most of the hardest issues that challenges our society. For example, without an outstanding ground in mathematics and physics it would be impossible to have so wondering buildings we have today. Indeed, the knowledge of calculus is a fundamental tool to make designers able to project unbelievable building shapes like those we can see in Dubai and other modern cities. Thus, the deep understanding of some matters doubtfully can open new possibilities and free our minds to develop new things.

The second reason supporting my position is that formal education broadens our knowledge towards complimentary matters, helping us to think in a wider perspective about any problem. For example, in Brazil all formal education of engineering include in their curriculum some courses of economics. This compel future engineers to expand their minds to approach complex demands of the society by providing not just feasible but also cost-effective solutions. Moreover, the contact with new subjects provided in formal education makes people free to decide what emphasis they should have in their career. This worked with me, for example. As a telecommunications engineer that have had contact with economics in the college, I decided to focus my career on telecommunications economics.

On the other hand, one may argue that formal education is used to have a very restricted curriculum that doesn't give room for creativity and diversity in preparation of new professionals. Nevertheless, this point is really flawed because most of the curriculum of formal undergraduate and graduate degrees requires engagement in a number of "free choice" courses. Therefore, with this flexibility, formal education assures students a broaden knowledge. For example, in my formal education as engineer, I had the opportunity to complete a course of Brazilian official sign language, what helps me today to communicate with clients with limitations to speak and hear.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned reasoning, I definitely hold the opinion that formal education more frees our minds and spirits to think out of the box than limits or restricts them anyhow.