GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

There is no shortage of opinions regarding how to measure how great and developed is a nation, what makess this issue a contentious one. While one advocates the level of population's wellfare is the best indicator, others hold that the number of achievements in art and science better represents countries prosperity. While each side as its strengths and weaknesses, I strongly believe that the level of general welfare experienced by the population better represents how well-develope is a nation. My understanting holds its basis mainly on the importance of social justice and equality in the society to make possible that all the population has descent and fair conditions to live.

Firstly, it is important to bear in mind that the concept of welfare was firstly introduced by northern eropean countries that stablished a state model based on the assumption that all citizens should be access to quality basic publics services, like health and education. The system would supported by the tax income collected from the middle and highest classes of the society. This model had counted for the prosperity of many european contries, like Norway, Finlad and Switzerland, for example. Such countries, where the quality of life is among the highest in the globe, however, is not greatly recognized by its artists, scientist or even by its technological discoveries, making this evidently less important to guarantee the prosperity of its citizens.

The second reason supporting my opinion is that a higher level of welfare results from heavly investments in education, what gives to all citizens same opportunities to access and compete in the labor and business market. With such approach, more skilled people is formed by the society when compared with countries that invest intensively in the frontier of science that can be accessed only by the richest part of the population.

On the other hand, one may argue that great achievements in scince and art better represents how advanced is a nation. Examples of developed countries like USA and Japan counts on this regard. Nevertheless, the highest countries in the list of infant, mortalit, education skills, quality of live, hapiness and peace are those where welfare state is the basis of the society.

To sum up, countries with highest level of welfare are often those where people have more quality of life and receive more opportunits to prosper in their lives. Thats why I definitely believe that welfare is the best indicator to measure countries prosperity.