"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertisin

The argument makes several unstaded assumptions regarding the association between the number of sleeping hours of executives and the probality of the business to prosper. Taken as a whole, these weaken assumptions, that will be shown in the following paragraphs, seriously undermine the argument's validity.

First of all, the argument assumes that the performance of the the Mentian advertising executives is the only factor explaining the success of their firms. However, it is very ease to enumerate a number of other key factors counting for a business prosperity, like the engagement of the entire workforce to perfom better, the product diferentiation strategy, the level of competition in the market as well as the overall economy status. Therefore, the mentioned association may be a spurious relationship created by a flawed statistical approach, since there is no evidence in the argument showing that other important factors more than the sleeping hours of the firm's advertising executives were also controled in the mentioned study.

More significantly, there is no evidence proven that the association found between the executive's sleeping hours and the business perfomance is a cause-effect relationship. The fact that the mentioned study has demonstrated association between the two variables do not necessarily assure that hiring people that need to sleep less than 6 hours per night would make a business more likely to prosper.

Finally, there is no evidences in the argument assuring that a massive and statistically valid sample of executives were surveyed in the study. It is possible that the study was made with executives of only a certain type of business, like finance or banking, for example, what makes the study not valid for all kinds of business.

To sum up, the argument holds its basis in a number of flawed assumptions. For that reason, it contribute to give incomplete insights to the business magazine readers.