Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

There is no shortage of opinions regarding if governenment may or may not funding the art development, what makes this issue a contentious one. While both sides has its strenghts and weaknesses, I strongly believe that public funding of arts harms their integruty and espontanity, mainly because the government can bias the art creativity and make only those artists aligned with the government flourish. Furthermore, the use on public funding always comes with a risk of corruption, what would represents really damage to the public interest.

First of all, one of the most important caractheristics of the arts and related artists are their freedon to challenge the common sense and show differing perspectives of the society. As trully iconoclasts, the artists should have room to also contest government positions and proposed public policies. In this regard, artists who depends on public funding to make their work would be intimidated and not contend with the government polictical views. For example, in countries longly ruled by a parties with left political views, artists with rights beliefs could not receive funding, hindering them to flourish as much as those in the left.

The second the reason to support my view on this issue is the risk of corruption in the process of granting the public funds to support the art. The criteria of selecting the artists that would be granted, as well as the valuation of the amont of funding needed by each art project could be seriously affected by the assimetry of information between tht artists and the government. In such enviroment, the process of granting public funding could be easely intentionaly driven to favour some groups of artists in exchange for bribes.

On the other hand, some may argue that without public funding the art could not flourish, given that most of population does not give much value on art as it use to give on edonnic goods. Nevertheless, many countries around the world have seen their national art flourish just through charity and private awards created by passioned wealthy citizens.

To sum up, public funding of arts could lead to limitate and bias the art production in a country and also is always exposed to the risk of corruption and misuse of public resources. For there reasons, I definitely hold the opinion that arts should not be funded by the government.