"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s conclusion that only people sleeping less than 6 hours per night should be hired in order for a business to prosper is based on some assumptions that are not sufficient to determine the entirety of this recommendation. The underlying assumption made by the author that only sleeping hours determine the prosperity of a business is fallacious and more factors like the working environment of a firm, the dedication of its employees, the number of firms studied for the study etc should be accounted for before reaching such a bold conclusion. These factors may very well alter the results of the study and thus the author’s conclusion.

First, it is stated that only 300 executives have been studied. This is a very small fraction of the total number of executives who work in business firms. It is possible that the set of executives selected for the study have such sleeping and work patterns that led to the given results. In order to get better and more accurate results, a much larger number of people need to be studied before making any such claims regarding sleeping hours and success. Also, it is entirely possible that the executives chosen for the study have lied about the number of sleeping hours. The authenticity of their statements cannot be guaranteed. If they have infact lied, then the whole argument falls apart.

Secondly, nowhere has it been mentioned what number of firms have been studied. There might be just 3-4 of these, which makes the study and its results kind of irrelevant. Certain firms might have executives who can work well with only 6 hours of sleep, but it can not be generalized for everyone. It is assumed in the argument that the results obtained by the study of the firms considered can be extrapolated to a broader set of firms, which is unconscionable and irrational.

Thirdly, although the study suggests the success of a firm, it doesn’t state the productivity levels of its employees and the number of executives in the firms. As for the results of the study, it is possible that the firms who have better profit margins employ a larger number of executives to complete a task and thus have higher profit margins. This undermines the results of the study to a great extent, as it is not only the less amount of sleep, but also the number of executives that influence the results.

Corroborating the above point, not just the number of employees, but other factors might affect the productivity and success of a firm. Working environment of a firm, the employee benefits and perks etc affect the productivity and results to a great extent. The argument is based on the assumption that sleep is the sole criteria for success while it may not be so. If other factors are taken into account, they might alter the results of the study. These need to be well considered before settling for any results.

In light of above points, it is very necessary to consider all factors necessary for success of a firm, and ascribe appropriate weightage to them before reaching any conclusion. Only then, the results will predict the underlying reasons for the success of firms accurately. Based solely on the information provided in the argument, it is not wise to aver the stated conclusion.