Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Growing opportunities, a vast variety of businesses and a plethora of ways for people to be successful have emerged due to the increasing human needs and potential to explore more, learn more, do more, and get more out of everything that’s available. These things might sound like growth and development on all sides and corners of human society, but they have equally devious consequences regarding the way people evaluate success, and the extent to which they are ready to go to achieve it. They resort to illegal ways, scams, frauds etc to get what they need. People find loopholes in the existing laws and policies and take advantage of these shortcomings to satisfy their ever growing thirst of power and money.

In a way, scandals and scams serve a useful purpose of getting people’s attention towards certain issues that people otherwise ignore or can’t find. We can’t stop people from taking advantage if they find some way around certain things. But we sure can improve on those loopholes after we know they exist. Scandals bring these problems to light. If any speaker or reformer points out some flaw, it’s inveterate for people to ignore it unless there are consequences. There was this news last summer that facebook had cancelled the internship of a student because he hacked Zuckerberg’s account to prove that a flaw existed in the site’s codebase. Google resorted to server security only after it’s security had been breached and important user data had been lost. Had these incidents not happened, changes would not have been in effect to overcome these issues. These incidents have had some serious risks and losses though, but then they’ve helped in making the systems better and secure.

As scandals happen, people are always working on the edge to make their systems better and flaw-proof, so it enhances their abilities and keeps them alert to look for all possibilities where things can go south. Authorities also keep check on people so that they can’t commit frauds and scams and take advantage of the system. Imagine if there were no wrongdoers. What would the crime fighting people do? What would the FBI work on? Who would the police keep check on? There would be no need for any such authorities then, no need for any such law and order. The need for a solution arises only when there are problems. If there are no problems, then you don’t need to do anything. This marks a world that’s static, not moving, not doing anything.

It’s not appropriate to say that scandals are good or they must happen, but just that because they happen, they can been seen as opportunities of betterment and usefulness. There is a lot of risk involved and careers of people are at stake when big scandals happen. There was this problem with the ATM machines earlier, that when people didn’t collect money and if the cash went back in the machine, the amount would not be deducted from the user’s account balance. People took advantage, collected all cash but one note from the ATM, so that when it went back inside, their balance remained what it was before. This caused a huge loss for the banks and they had to remove this facility. So, it incurred loss to a lot of people, but it pointed out a major flaw in the way ATM machines operated. This way, scandals prove to be useful.

Conclusively, there are good and bad sides to everything. Scandals cause a lot of loss to people and affect their careers, investments, and privacy. But sometimes they turn the attention of people on important issues and flaws that are otherwise not taken seriously. Some of these issues can cause widespread losses and can have a domino effect on nations and the economy as a whole, so it’s important that they are taken care of before they reach such a level to affect the society in such a widespread manner. Scandals do get the attention of relevant people who need to take measures to make ends meet and resolve issues. Thus, in a way, they are important.