"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertisin

The passage concludes that if a business wants to flourish, employees should be hired on the basis of number of hours they sleep. The highlight benefits it will pose to the company based on the recent study conducted. While at first reading the argument seems quite conceivable, a closer look spells out a number of assumptions that could undermine its assessment.

To begin with, the author says that the study has been conducted on 300 females and males executives of a firm. The number of participants of the study are very less. Three hundred is not a significant number that can be made basis to take such a big decision. It may be the case that the participants of the study do not need much sleep then also they can work with efficacy. This may not be case with other people. Every individual's body work differently and so are the needs of sleep to maintain health. If a person is not taking proper sleep then he/she might not be able to focus on work efficiently. Thus, before coming to any conclusion author should do some more research on authenticity of the study. Moreover, survey can be conducted in which large number of people should be surveyed and accordingly decision should be made.

Secondly, arguer is making connection between higher profit of the company with number of hours executives are sleeping. There is no evidence given in the passage that indicates the relationship between these two factors. The duration of study conducted is not mentioned. It is an important question which needs to be answered that for how many days participants were under observation. Perhaps the study was conducted for 15-20 days, and during those days the executives were sleeping less than 6 hours per night as the wok load was high. Therefore, faster growth and prosperity of a company does not depend solely upon the sleeping hours of executives.

Finally, The text is missing many important details of the study. The study cannot be relied upon, whose number of participants are less and number of days for which it was conducted is unknown. Thus, it cannot be considered as parameter to measure the efficiency of an employee. There are may be many executives of different company who sleeps for more than 6 hours and are doing justice with their role. The executives of several companies should be included in this study to see a common pattern and then conclusion should be derived.

To conclude, though it seems that author has done some research before backing the prospect that sleeping hours of executives of company is related to the higher growth and faster prosperity of business, an in-depth scrutiny reveals that none of the arguments put forth are backed by exhaustive analysis; thus, providing little credible support. As it stands, the recommendation looks flawed in multiple respects and may not give the results the author expects.