TPO -3 Independent Writing :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is a relation that a person makes by his choice and not something that he is bound by due to their blood relations. Friends are very necessary and advantageous for persons to live and enjoy their lives the most. Today's world demands a person to be as social as possible for his/her growth both professionally and personally. Although, it is important for a person to bond with as many people as possible, it is actually more important to keep friendship with old friends.

Every relation goes through highs and lows which tests the nature of the relation from time to time. And, this is where the old friendship proves very beneficial to the new one as it has gone through the test of time. I want to quote one example here from my personal life. I met a person thirteen years back on first day of my college. We interacted and became friends. The two of us had a great rapport through four years of our college life and were the best buddies. Since, we were in the same course and were roommates in the hostel, we used to be together all time. He still is my best friend in spite of the fact that we are in different cities and do not interact very much. We know that we are always available for each other in our highs and lows. I believe that the same may not happen with a new friend till we spend such time that the the relation becomes old.

Besides this, old friends are normally the people who know us very well and thus are the best judges of us. And, because of this they are the quintessential for a person to improve and do best in his/her life. Since, old friends know our strengths and weaknesses the most, they are our best teacher, critics, admirers and advisers.

These are the reasons I feel that we should not leave our old friends at the cost of giving more time to new ones.