Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

The knowledge is very important to get successful in the life. More knowledgable you are the more valuable to the society and in turn contributes to the development of the nation. It is a point of consistent debate among the students and the universities management whether the student should focus on major subject or should take other subjects too in order to enhance their knowldege. I personally believe that specilaization in the major subject is more important than to have broad knowledge of many subjects. There are certain reasons to it, few of them I going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, a student spend very limited time in the university, that time should be utilized in the studies of the major subject. The knowledge of the major subject will help in the future to get the desired job and also to do the job efficiently. This time should not be wasted in doing the studies of the other academic subjects which may not prove to be useful in the job related work. For example, if the student who is doing medical studies, takes french language as an extra subject to enhance his knowledge. Then he will end up styding the extra subject more, as the subject is new to him and he may face difficulty in understanding it. Thus, the student is wasting his precious time which should be devoted in the study of the medical subjects by studying the subject which may prove irrelevent to him in his carrer.

Besides this, the student should be given the freedom of choice to decide whether he has time to take more subjects or not. The students who don't have practical classes may have time to take some subjects besides the major one. For example, the students from arts department do not have any practical classes so they may have time to enhance their knowledge by taking other academic subjects. But, again this depends on the free will of the student enroll in other courses.

Lastly, the students are already under pressure of doing well in the main subjects, taking more courses will increase their problem. They have to prepare well for the exams in order to have a bright future, by taking more subjects they may not be able to score good marks in either of the subjects. I mean to say that neither they will score good in the specialized subject nor in the extra course taken by them.

In a nutshell, though gaining knowledge is good but at the cost of major subject is not justifiable. Therefore, students should specialize in the specific subject rather than trying to broaden their knowledge by taking many other subjects.