Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developi

There is no shortage of opinions regarding how specific the laws should be to cover all circumstances, times and places and still continue applicable. While flexible and restricted laws have many strengths and weaknesses, I strongly believe that laws should be as flexible as possible, otherwise they would not stand for a long time. Furthermore, flexible laws make less space for uncovered situations, thus raising legal stability of a country.

First of all, anyone can recognize how long and hard is the process to approve laws by the parliament. Representing differing and most of times antagonist groups of the society, the congressmen always have a lot of political discussion before approving any new or revised legislation. Indeed, the process to fix or update a law in most countries is the same of that needed to approve a new one. Based on that, flexible laws created without focus on very restricted circumstances or places should be preferable to guarantee that they can be in force for years. For example, some private markets are totally exposed to technology evolutions that quickly transform the business environment. Such markets should be ruled by laws that keep itself updated even if a disruptive new technology heavily change the way the companies interact and negotiate.

Secondly, a great level of stability should be assumed for any country's legal framework in order to attract long run investments. In this regard, a set of flexible laws that do not need revision every other year should contribute to make the country competitive in the globalized world. For example, multinational companies use to analyze the labor legal framework of several countries in order to decide where to build new industries. So, flexible laws capturing differing ways of production and interaction between the workers and the companies should benefit any country to receive such industries.

On the other hand, one may argue that flexible and vague laws could be rarely applied and well interpreted, hindering their efficacy. Nevertheless, such claim is flawed, mainly because specific conditions in the application of any law could be covered by infra-legal regulation. Indeed, regulations are usually easer to be created and updated, making them a much better instrument to specify concrete situations and application conditions than the laws.

To sum up, flexible laws are more likely to be in force and updated for a long time, what give countries stability and helps in attracting long-run capital investment. For these reasons I definitely believe that laws should be as flexible as possible.