The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions regarding how Monarch Books would attract more customers by simply opening a café. Taken as whole, these unproven assumptions, if not hold true, seriously undermine the argument validity.

First of all, the argument holds in the fact that the bookstore having a long tradition in town and a large customer base to assure that the café would attract more customers. However, there is no strong evidence that the current customers would be more likely to visit the store if it had a café. In today's world people are rushing and preferring to shop in online bookstores, aiming to save money and time, what makes the impact of the opening of café in Monarch Books really questionable. Therefore, to consider this cause-effect relationship as a valid assumption, the question to be answered first would be the willingness of the current customers to spend time enjoy the new facilities of the bookstore, as a Café.

Secondly, the argument that discontinuing the children's book section will not impact in attracting the customers is clearly flawed. Firstly, it is based in a national census result that may not represent the population of the local area where the bookstore is placed. Indeed, to decide about replacing the children's book section, the question to be answered would be how is the profile of the families on the Monarch's neighborhood. For example, what percentage of them have young children? The answers would give the bookstore owners a better picture on the impact of such replacement.

Finally, the argument assume that Monarch Books should open a cafe because its competitor did. However, neither it is clear the reason why the other store did this nor it is shown the results of this movement in attracting customers, making this argument really flaw.

To sum up, the argument is based on several weak and unproven assumptions that makes it really useless for the decision on the opening of the café.