Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

There is no shortage of opinions regarding if countries should preserve their remaining wilderness areas, what makes this issue a contentious one. While each view on this topic has its merits and weaknesses, I strongly believe that nations has the duty to keep these areas untouched, mainly because of the benefits from preserve biodiversity and contribute to the sustainable development. Furthermore, wilderness areas should be wisely economically explored by the tourism industry, what makes the decision to prevent these areas also an economically cogent one.

Firstly, in the 21st century, there is no room to dirty economic exploitation of any natural resources. Indeed, there is a world call for preservation and investment in clean technologies and production approaches, what makes a decision to preserve natural wild habitats aligned with the world society claim. The biodiversity that some of these areas have can be considered a treasure for researchers on new medicines as well as to biologists. For example, the Brazilian Pantanal forest is an enormous region that keeps the highest number of different kinds of plants and animals of the world. This region is being studied by many researchers that have been found different new medicines along the years.

Secondly, wilderness areas can represent an excellent source of revenues for any country. In fact, truly wild ecosystems have great potential to attract many passionate for natural life. The tourism industry has the power to transform a decision to preserve these areas in a highly profitable business model, where the more untouched is a wild forest, the more attractive and profitable it is. For example, some areas of Amazon forest in Brazil are rich of mineral resources, but their exploitation by the tourism industry has made these areas profitable enough to make viable to keep them well-preserved.

On the other hand, some may argue that in countries where there is lack of cultivable areas for farming activities the preservation of wilderness areas should be put in second place. Nevertheless, this argument is totally flawed. For one, the great increase in farming productivity, with use of intense technology in production, has made possible to have big amount of grains even in small areas. Moreover, the countries which do not have enough space for farming activities, but vast preserved wilderness areas should take this as comparative advantages and explore the most the tourism and research potential of this areas to differentiate themselves in the globalized world. In this way, it would be best if they just import grains from countries with vast territories and raise money with tourism and researches in their wild forests.

To sum up, for these aforementioned reasons I definitely hold the opinion that nations should prefer to pass laws to preserve wilderness areas than let them be devastated and used to traditional farming activities.