Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Developments over an wilderness areas often become hot potatoes around the community. People who advocate the plan expect higher income and growth in local industries, while those who oppose to it are worried about irreversible damage to the environment, which will bring unexpected avenges to human beings. Though in general further development of wilderness should be somewhat restrained by environmentalism, surely there are cases where we cannot avoid transforming nature.

It is true that current rate of exploitation over wilderness is alarming level. Amazon, the biggest tropical forest in the world, has been damaged by greeds of human beings. This massive, natural area was once called as the lung of the earth, but the respiratory function is now not as good as it used to be. trees were cut down for material supplies, and animals there perished due to the lost of habitat, some of which were killed for purpose of research and business. Environmentalists assert these are unethical with no doubt since human beings are sacrificing other lives for their own sake. Such examples are ample: Sahara desert is expanding due to the industrial developments of sub-Saharan areas, which implies reduction in tropical areas.

There are some cases where political decisions can achieve both protection of the environment and faster growth in economy. Without human activity, nature can rehabilitate its own function and lives can thrive again. Demilitarized zone, the buffer area between South and North Korea, has recovered its ecosystem since Korean War, and celebrated as the area where the nature of Han-peninsula is well-preserved. In addition to this environmental values, the military tension between two separate Korea generated unintentional economic values; researchers, documentary producers, and environmentalists are eagerly purchasing the records of behaviors of the animals living that region, expecting that such record can provide unique memoir of wilderness insulated from human activities over 60 years. However, we should be noticed that this logic for protecting environment is endorsing humans’ interests, not environment itself.

As history says, human beings always come first when making a decision, and they should do. Suppose we are so sympathetic to wilderness and lives living there that we consider them first for decision making. Unfortunately, though with good intention, in many cases it is unrealistic. For example, Chinese had once suffered from wild boars, snakes, and insects which harmed and killed many people until the Communist Party devised and implemented policies that protect its people from wilderness threats. Wilderness does not always mean beautiful, pristine scenery. Rather, it has been dangers to be controlled for the most people as a matter of survival. Recall how we drove out grizzlies, wolves, and other predatory animals and poisonous plants from our daily lives. Without proper plans, leave the nature alone might generate harmful effects to human beings, rather than secure them.

Discussions so far imply that though environment should be protected and preserved by human beings, that is because such decisions will be good for human beings, not because we should serve for nature itself. Unless developments backfire human beings currently or in the near future, human beings still possess power to make use of nature, they will, and there hardly exist means or reason to deter such activities.