Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leading students for better future is definitely one of the most important duty of educational institutions. This good will, unfortunately, sometimes results in tragedies due to the lack of knowledge and the uncertain nature of our lives. Some students are advised to give up their currently pursuing careers though they have hidden potentials on it; others are led by their mentors to the field that destroy their lives with despairs, failures, and maladaptiveness. Hence even with the delicate cares it is hard for teachers or mentors to say their students what should they do for the careers.

Take, for example, the case of Thomas Edison. He was often discouraged by his teacher in school since she persistently doubted his intellectual abilities. In fact, her observations were not that far from the reality: He sometimes struggled with reading articles, understanding materials covered in the school, and getting around with friends in school. It was natural for her to dissuading Edison and his mother from higher education. However, as we all know, he did not give up and eventually succeeded in becoming the most innovative inventor in 20th century. This is not a rare case. Stephen Curry was once heard that he would never be a basketball player because of his height. The evaluation was reasonable, regarding that he has relatively short compared to the giants in NBA. Rather than giving up, he decided to hone his niche; he practiced harder to develop 3-points shoot skills. Many sports journalists now admit that he is historically one of the most impressive basketball player characterized by awe-arising 3-point shooting skills. If these people gave up when they heard some ‘rational advices,’ there would have never been the innovator or the champion. Unfortunately, though not zero, the odd is pretty low; not everyone can succeed like these.

Teenagers often want to become a superstar. They want to live a special life beloved by everyone. Unfortunately, by definition of superstar not everyone can be the one; there must be someone who miserably fails and tastes the bitterness of life. South Korea boasts hundreds of K-pop stars who make millions of dollars and enjoy the lives as celebrities. However, only few point out that there are hundreds of thousands of young kids who prepare to be a star for a number of years and fail to be one in the end. Brazil also features tons of soccer stars, but it also has thousands of people in the country who fail to survive in the market. Those are what teachers and mentors want to avoid. What they aim to do is to drive their students for happy lives, not pushing them into competitions or challenges with almost zero success chance. So, sometimes they have to be hard-nosed and frankly say what they think about students’ possibilities.

Some might be worried about disappointments and mood of giving up when educational institutes would generate when they have students look into reality. Teachers sometimes turn away students by saying the truth that they have got a longshot, but some of them just do not give up and pursue their goal anyway. They do so probably because they really want to do what they meant to do, or they might have guts or experiences that make them convinced for pursuing their goals. Note that many professors discourage students who allege that they want to pursue a Ph. D. degree to test them whether they are seriously determined. If they continue pursuing, then such students would be robust to the advice from the institutes, and succeed after all.

Therefore, educational institution and teachers should play roles as red teams that test students so that they realize their odds and own determination on pursuing the career and goals. After filtering rigorously, students will less suffer from wrong choices and more likely to succeed in the careers.