A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Globalization, income disparity among citizens and immigrants are trends that make it hard to maintain a country unified. There are heated conflicts on every issues between people with different backgrounds: race, religion, political predilection, etc. It is often assumed that therefore a same curriculum will allay this problem. Moreover, the proponents of such policy argue that the efficiency of the nation's education will improve, since there will be less costs to educate young students as a whole. However, though their point is valid in some perspective, too rigidly unified curriculums would give a birth to various troubles.

There are students who get disadvantaged from the rigidly unified national curriculum. Those are first students who will be sacrificed by a unified curriculum. Historically, there have always been the prodigious who require special treatment to fully brandish its talents. Thomas Edison, for instance, suffered from his lack of reading skills during his secondary school life, chastised by teachers as 'retarded,' but his true ability started to shine thanks to his mother's incessant attention to him; he eventually contributed America by inventing electronic devices. If his mother had turned her back to him and let the official curriculum do all the cares, he would not have been able to become the most important inventor in the 20th century. Other than those genius who bloom late, others demand special treatments from the very beginning of the education stages. Recall how von Neumann completed secondary-level education levels when he was 7, and how Picasso disregarded nations' art curriculum and started his own works, which remain as masterpieces until now.

These examples indicate that though expensive, fine-tuned curriculum would enhance students' understanding of education objective. Yes, per capita cost of nationwide curriculum is cheaper than that attuned to each student. However, there is a thing to be closely treated; the unified national curriculum will incur more costs in the end. This is because, without considering different developments of different students, it is easy for them to give up studying at a certain level, no matter how the government elaborates it. In Korea, about two thirds of high school students are called as 'those who gave up math,' literally, they do not care about mathematics scores. They completely ignores math classes and focus on other subjects such as English, Korean, or geography. This is because the administration of education in Korea put the math standards too high for students: they have to learn trigonometry equations, integrals, derivatives, and vectors and geometry when they are sophomore. Those are so difficult for them to digest them so they simply give up to study them. Similar problems would occur, even if the administration lower the math education objective: the smart students will not study anyway.

These are not the only disadvantages of unified curriculum; there are potential threat of misuse in a unified national curriculum. If not rightly used, a unique education steps may degenerate the diversity of perspective, which will make the country vulnerable to the appearance of a dictator. Since education shapes young citizen's mind, if a sovereign wants to perpetuate its term than the first thing it tackles is controlling the education scheme. See how North Korea manipulated its citizen's perspective toward the world by distorting the 'unified curriculum'; it is uniformly filled with eulogy to three consecutive autocratic leaderships: Ilsung Kim, Jungil Kim, and Jongun Kim. If there had been an independent education agency which does not adopt such curriculum, people there might have not been brainwashed to praise their communist party and the leader all the time.

It is easy to assume that a unified curriculum would be efficient way to raise our next generation. However, less cost does not directly mean effectiveness. Considering its shortcomings, one should be at least careful in adopting it, take all of implicit costs described above.