The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the memorandum asserts that the Super Screen Movie Production Company should increase its budget for publicly advertising its movies. Though his claim might be true eventually, before admitting his assertion it is needed to address some issues first, considering than with only information given in the memo it is impossible to determine whether the conclusion is valid or not.

He suggests that movie qualities remain great from the fact that there is a high proportion of reviewers for some of the movies produced by the company. The natural question for this reasoning is that whether the reviewers represent the general opinions of public; the reviews might have been too scarce to evaluate the whole body of public, or the predilection of the reviewing site might have favored the movies, which would have distorted the public's feelings toward the movies. If these are the case, the claim that the movies' qualities are still acceptable may not be true, but the writer does not give any evidence to buttress this alleged fact.

If this presumption collapses, it is highly uncertain whether the current low attendance of the company's movie is indeed due to the lack of customer's acquaintance to the movies. This assumption may be true, as the writer says, but he is silent about the very reason why there are fewer number of viewers compared to last year, though providing some speculations. If, for instance, despite public's full-recognition about the film produced by the company, the decrease is from decreased quality of castings and staffs, then it had better spend more money to rehabilitate the quality of movies, rather than touting them to people.

Other explanations for the decreased attendance remain plausible. For instance, it is possible that the decrease in the number of viewers arose from current economic recession this year. Then the pool of people desiring to watch a movie would have shrunken at the outset, which exculpate the company's any decision from the decreased number of viewers. Considering that it is often the case that a business's success is highly decided by macroeconomic factors, the writer would reinforce his argument by showing that the decreased attendance is independent of such factors.

Even assuming that, though unverified, the decreased number of viewers is because of least acquaintance of public to the movies of the company, whether it should increase its budget for advertisements requires further justifications. For instance, public may not respond to the ads since there are to many competitions of advertisements to capture people's attention these days. This implies that new advertisements will possibly consume production cost without any fruits. Other than advertisements, an event for the visitors may be more effective since it will generate positive impressions on them, and local newspapers may cover it, which result in similar effect to the ads. Hence, the writer should give a reason why it should be advertisements to save the company.

As seemingly correct proposals often contains some flaws, this argument, though we can feel that the writer concerns about the company's future, also possesses reasoning without justifications. Therefore, to maintain his idea further, he should provide more facts and logics regarding the issue.