A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

Like any other controversial topics, this one has no clear solutions since any choice will generate both pros and cons. We should therefore decide whether to adopt a nation-wide curriculum or allow each school to choose their own one up to environment the government or the country face. However, as the case of the United State, I believe it is more or less better to make some room for discretion schools can harness about their curricular, which will result in benefit higher than the opportunity cost.

First of all, prodigious students should experience special curriculum. Some would say that there is no clear boundary which decides one is a genius or not, and there is no reason, even if we can distinguish them, to treat them differently from ordinary people. Well, there is a method, and yes, there is a reason to treat them differently. Today in America there is highly elaborated measures which tell us one’s intellectual ability compared to their colleagues including the second generation IQ test. Also, specialists in various fields in the U. S. can check a candidate is truly talented or not with high accuracy by simply looking at their performances for a minute. These prodigies deserve special curricular and they need them; without appropriate intellectual stimulates, they will soon lose interests in education provided and waste the competence in vain. On the other hand, with properly designed education plans, they can develop the abilities much higher and grow as leaders in every single field of the nation. The unified, dull curriculum would cost these potential leaders.

Also, it is quite implausible to force a unified curriculum to all schools. This is not a matter of talented students, as mentioned above, but a matter of teachers and education institutes who want to grow their youth achieving their own education goals. The United States is a highly diversified country: there are various races, cultures, and religions than any other countries in the world. Hence an agreement over which goal people should aim when they teach children is seemingly impossible and costly. Even if the government forces a curriculum, there will be alternative education institutes, which are already prevalent today, refusing to follow it and going their own way. We see there are lots of religious alternative education institutes of Baptists, Presbyterians, Buddhists, and Islamics in the U. S. and they are quite successful in producing decent citizens.

Some might be worried about separation of the country; if each student learns different virtue, history, ideas, there will be more conflicts over the country for any given agenda, which will cost tremendously. In some sense, this is true since there are already harsh controversies over the debatable issues in the country, and it seems very hard to fetch them in to an agreement. However, we should not that conflicts and arguments are essential to any democratic society. Indeed, there are, and have been, countries where people share a single notion and perspective toward the world: the totalitarian countries like today’s North Korea; German and Japan in 1940s. What these countries end up with? They made conflicts with other countries, claiming their supremacy. From the history, we see that through allowing different perspectives and debates to survive we can avoid the risk of totalitarianism, which save a lot of costs and lives.

Though this is not a unique, dominant solution for the prompt, as far as I am concerned, we can benefit more from allowing different curricular rather than enforcing a single authorized education plan.