A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Globalization made people in a country more diverse and heterogeneous in their faith, race, religion, and cultures. Based on this, some people might say that enforcing a unified curriculum would be detrimental to harmonization of those various people. A certain degree of standardized curriculum is , however, indispensable though too rigid one might generate predictable side effects.

The main reason for the objection to a unique education curriculum is the current ironic situation that the unified curriculum is hurting the unification of the nation. The United States, one of the country boasting its composition of diverse people, is struggling from heated conflicts due to the unified curriculum. For instance, since the national education agency decided not to teach the creation theory as a scientific hypothesis of human origin, the Christians has been eager to tumble down that decision, while many people are casting doubt on the validity of the theory. What we can see from this case, and the ample of similar situations is that once the government chooses a position advocating a specific perspective and put it in the curriculum, the opposing groups rage over the decision. This phenomenon has made it tempting for the government to shirk determine any positions and let private sectors choose whatever they want to teach. Of course, this cannot be the ultimate solution for neither unification of the nation nor education for future generations.

The first cost we would have to pay after allowing arbitrary curriculum is a degeneration of community among citizens. South and North Koreas have been divided more than 70 years after the Korean War, and their education systems have been also separated. Although the current detant mood between them is fostering the re-unification of people in the both countries, many experts are worried about errs and miscommunication due to the different background knowledge and perspectives they acquired from different curriculums. Even after they start to try to understand each other, it will take a long time and cost to sufficiently understand one another. That is why two countries are considering a temporary implementation of unified education; they will be able to experiment how to make people share similar belief toward the world.

Moreover, the government can alleviate the conflicts which occur choosing what to teach by restricting the education guidance and expanding the discretion of teachers. In California, the degree of freedom that teachers possess is so high that, which made them easy to fine-tune classes to students considering their background and level of knowledge and skills. This has made students successful in undergraduate level; the public education in California is rated as the best within the country. This is because even if students spend one or two more years to digest the secondary level required by the state government --- surely they can do this in the community colleges in the state--- they can eventually transfer to the universities in California. So, teachers can freely adjust the difficulty and contents of courses they provide without concerning nagging parents who are worried about college admission, and students can take some time to find their own way to communicate with others proficiently.

Education critically affect a person’s virtue and the way he or she treat others. If designed properly and allowing some room for discretion, the nationally unified curriculum would not only enhance the unification of the nation, but also increase the general level of educational achievements within the country.