The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

We need to define a nation's greatness before starting the discussion,. Let us roughly define it as the average wealth of people living in the country, though the meaning of greatness can vary up to context. In modern perspective, it is quite natural to weight individual's wealth equally regardless of their position, vocation, or gender.

With this definition of greatness, the achievements of very small number of people are often attenuated. This is because the success, however splendid it is, divided by the number of people living in the country. Only the overall level of lives thus matters especially as the country develops and its population increases. Consider Pyramides, the most magnificent relic of ancient time. Nobody dares to state that it is a great success of old Egypt, but it is built upon the sacrifices of laymen and subordinates. The justification becomes even harder regarding that, if it was not for this legacy, the Pharaoh might have been able to save the resources for the construction and use it for the improvements in education, trades, medicine, or other fields that affect general level of people’s life. The greatness of the country, according to the definition we made at the introduction, then would have been much greater.

The only problem for this definition, despite its precision, is that it is often hard to measure. Unlike the modern records for Gross Domestic Production (GDP), tracking down the overall welfare of countries that existed in the past is not an easy task, or even impossible. That is why people often approximate the greatness of a state with colossal sculptures, constructions, and artworks. They are easy to find and remember, and so naturally become the symbols for the greatness of the nation. The Great Wall is often cited as a representative example since it reminds us how the united China was strong at that time.

However, one should note that the united China was short-lived country which exploited poor people. The wall made more than 200 victims each day along with its construction schedule, and the number of people killed during the construction is more than those who were killed by Northern Barbarians, form whom the Great Wall meant to protect people. This irony describes the disadvantage of using achievements as a proxy for the greatness of a nation: they distort the reality. Another irony can be found in North Korea, one of the poorest country in 21th century. The country has more than thousands of giant sculptures that were meant to describe the appearance of its leader Jong-Eun Kim, Jung-il Kim, and Il-sung Kim over its territory. In Pyung-Yang, the capital of North Korea, there used to be one of the biggest sculpture of a alive human being. Assume that these big sculptures are successfully conserved and found two thousands years later. Will it be reasonable to say that North Korea was one of the greatest nation in this era?

The cost of using tangible works as a measure for the greatness of a nation-state is clear. We will falsely assume that the country enjoyed its wealth, and people who lived in the country were happy about the country though in fact they were not. To assess how a country was or is great therefore should be done through a well-designed inspection which to measure the aggregate, or average level of life of people living in that country, not partial vestiges left by handful of people.