Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study because acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Higher education aims to nurture students growing as future leaders in society. Since modern society requires interdisciplinary studies, many institute demand students to acquire credits from various fields. If well-designed, such system would produce alumni equipped with ability to combine knowledges from multiple areas into new values, while this might not be the case all the time. This means there are some preconditions to be satisfied to make such policy be fruitful.

The speaker assumes that every students would benefit from studying various subjects; unfortunately the successes of such education has somewhat limited. Yes, Steve Jobs acquired his insights on electronic device design and functions from a calligraphy class. This is famously cited story for those who agree with the speaker, but we should remember such cases are rare. Most students lack talents and intuitions to combine such seemingly unrelated subjects. This is understandable since if such thing had been easy, modern society would have not look like the current state. If it will be mandatory for students to take classes from alienated areas, they will be simply frustrated from low grades and feelings of retarded. Once I took a introductory law class due to the recommendation from my parents---they are lawyers---and I barely understood a single sentence during the first class since I matriculated the college as a physics department student. That is the last moment I want to cherish in the entire college life. This is a personal narrative, but I believe the policy would trigger lots of similar situations.

Further, there are fields where students need to focus on the subject to master the undergraduate level expertise. Learning mathematics, for example, is scarcely related to learning other subjects such as literature or business administration. This is because it is innately complete field; all you should do to good at the math is drilling the logic of mathematical language, not taking a variety of other courses expecting some intuitions or hints to solve the problems. Suppose a students who wants to be a great applied mathematician. To achieve his dream, it is indispensable to master the major subjects at least undergraduate level. For him, the policy would hinder his plan, which will be worse outcome than under the system without mandatory interdisciplinary curriculum.

Requiring every students will be, therefore, disappoint students who have dreamed education that makes them skillful grown-ups. However, it should be noted that such potential disadvantage does not dismiss the need for mixed curriculum. With considerate preparations, the policy would generate graduates who will innovate and contribute to society. The first and most important condition to be satisfied for successful interdisciplinary education is forecasting the future demand of society and students. If the university administration can draw a clear picture on evolution of technology, science and economy, it will be able to induce students to take diverse courses.

New knowledge arise from combination of various facts and insight from experience. Nevertheless, demanding every student to follow such radical policy might generate unforeseen troubles that will undermine the motivation for the policy argued at the outset. Therefore, university would rather show, not force, students that they will get better by extending their experience horizons.