Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study because acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

The above idea in my opinion is a double-edged sword, considering that not all the students are same and implementing a same policy for everyone might yield fruitful results for some, while might have deleterious effects on another.

The aim of any educational institution such as a university is to provide wholesome education to their students and developing responsible citizens by the time one finishes their education. From a general point of view all round development of a student is quite necessary during the years of study. So any student along with studying the core subjects of their field must consider studying subjects other than their field which might be complementary to the field they are studying or others which might interest a given student.

For example, considering the field of Computer Science, taking up subjects of Management or Mass Communication might prove helpful to the student in future. Similarly, the students of Mechanical Engineering can take up Advanced Mathematics or Physics which are complementary subjects to the former.

Another positive aspect about the given idea to be considered is that it is not always necessary to take up subjects that are meant to be studied, one can also choose subjects of his/her own liking which might act as sort of a refreshment from the routine curriculum. For example, if a student has interest in arts or documentary making, choosing such a subject may act as an escape for him/her from the mundane studies and have an overall positive effect on the growth of the student.

While all the above-mentioned points seem cogent, the same set of rules don’t apply to every student, if a student is forced to take an extra subject which he/she might not be willing to take then from the start it may create a reluctant negative attitude in the student which is the most egregious thing that can happen to a student as education is something that should be looked upon with a sight of curiosity, not unwillingness. Secondly, not everyone might be able to handle the pressure of studying extra subjects other than their field resulting in increased burden for students in turn resulting in poor performance in the case of students being considered.

In conclusion, I would say that the above-mentioned idea while being fruitful for some can also backfire in some cases. As not all students are the same and you can’t make a monkey build a wooden dam, and make a beaver jump from one tree to another. Everyone has their own strengths and weaknesses. Hence, what can be done in the given case is that students should be given the free will to choose whether they want to take up extra subjects or not.