All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The companies need to be consulted to implement changes that is obvious. But that consultancy is provided by whom is the main question of the issue. It could be debated that inside employees are more efficient in deciding the best outcome for to company to take. But another aspect has to be taken into consideration. Still the former option is considered as it has a high probability of the same outcome by spending less resources.

The decision of selecting the decision maker is based on many factors. If the company is going to hire outside consultants then they need to make sure that they are capable of evaluating their methods. The outside consultants are not usually aware of the norms by which a company works as each and every company is different in their actions and their results. So before making the evaluation the consultants need to study a company's procedure of working and according to that suggest changes in it. This increases the time required to evaluate the process and make it inefficient.

On the other hand, the company's employees are adapted to the rules and all the workings of their company's way of work. They could more efficiently provide a feedback which could save the company the money it spends on hiring the external consultants. Take an example of an employee who is working on a project and faces a difficulty in the processing of the company side. That employee could suggest exact changes required for the company to overcome their barriers and lead to a swift processing. So it is highly recommended in this issue that a company should pay heed to their employees.

But the above conclusion can be made only by considering that the employees whom the company is going to ask for the review, are eligible to suggest a descent and progressive feedback. It could be possible that the company goes to the outside consultants because all the company's employees are not inclined to do an extra work or are not able to suggest any productive changes. Though small, but this could be the only reason a company would pay consultants over their own employees.

But this is not a common factor as there is a huge possibility that at least a small number of employees are present who are capable of suggesting of making any changes. So considering this fact, the option of opting for external consultants should be deemed unnecessary as the same output can be achieved internally by organizing sessions where the employees could suggest changes in the working of the company.