With the development of simulation technology, should live experimentation on animals be considered not necessary any more?

Research is the way one satisfies his/her curiosity. Also with that being, the development done is a primary benefit. The issue in debate is whether we should keep on practicing the orthodox methods of testing of our research on live animals. As it is stated, the technology is far more advanced than ever. In today's world, we can do number of things that we were not able to do yet with the help of technology.

Creating a simulation of future events is an example of it. This simulation foresees the events that are yet to happen and giving a prediction based on the previous results. In earlier days researchers doing their work in biology use to work on animals like rats and pigs for their experimentation. This above stated method of carrying out research is now considered illegal in some nations due to the ill effects occurring in the dummies. And it should also not be a justified act anymore. The reason being the amount of torment given to these animals render them with life of depression. Studies say that their life activities like hunting for food is vastly affected.

Also another reason to bring an abeyance to this practice is the animals after experimentation are left in the wild to observe and collect data for their heinous deed. This risks the whole of the wild with which they interact and can be a reason for extinction of that species in that region. The simulation technology helps in creating a safe environment for researchers to carry out their experiment without any danger to the animals as they are not involved in it. Instead experiments are done virtually on them in simulated environment. If one has this facility then one should surely use it. There are reasons to not use it as researchers are not inclined to it or find it complex or they do not have the funds for it.

But as some orthodox researchers do not believe on the reliability of machines they prefer the conventional way of conducting them on live animals instead. Now the reason behind this might be that many biologists have found cure of diseases by experimenting on live animals and sometimes even on humans. The polio vaccine was found only after the experimentation on hundrends of animals and only after deaths of a lot of humans. This stated one can say that live experimentation on animals should be made illegal in all nations. The stubborn researchers should be persuaded towards using simulations which do not harm the lives of any living entity.