All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The issue tries to convey a very common tendency of current companies in which the company hires outside consultants to suggest ways for more efficient operation of company. This issue seems true but can be refuted in many ways as it is possible that in order to achieve efficiency one's own employees can help more as compared to outside consultants.

When it comes to knowing the merits and demerits of company, it is their own employees that are aware of it well and not some outside consultant. As the company employees are familiar with the companies environment they will be able to judge more efficient ways in improving efficiency. Sometimes, the solution presented by the outside consultant might just affect the companies enthusiasm. As the outside consultants are not fully aware of the companies working methods they might give an efficient but a solution that might be disliked by the companies staff. In a company there are always loyal employees who are always ready to help the company build good reputation. This employees can always help the company develop efficient solutions. While there is a always a chance that the outside consultant might not be so loyal and often might lead to leaking the companies information elsewhere.

Whenever the companies own employee works on a solution he/she always intend to develop a solution which might be helpful to his colleges. There are many famous example in which companies own gave a solution which change the entire course of company. In late 1990's when browser in computer was not free and people in order to use it had to pay some amount, it was Bill Gates,companies own employee who gave the solution to make browser free in order to increase efficient sale of its other products like Microsoft Windows. In this scenario if a external consultant was hired he would have definitely given the solution which could have made the situation worse. Due to this solution many competitors like Netscape and others were forced to quite the competition.During the independence movement of India it was the vision and idea of Sardar Patel the countries own who helped the country get together.

By this all example we cannot conclude that always the solution given by the insider would be 100% efficient. Sometime the consultants might be right and their solution might be the one which is more efficient. It all depends upon the consultants experience and understanding of the problem. Whenever a companies own employee cannot get a efficient solution it is better to try out a external consultant. Sometimes, due to being connected with many companies the consultant can give a better proved solution.

Thus, it can be proved that though the companies are pretty much dependent on the external consultants, the company should first give chance to their internal employees and if they fails then they should consult external consultants. Thus we cannot conclude whom the company should try but they should always be proud of their staff and always consider them on higher level as compared to consultants.