Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A good sense of humor is one of the most important human qualities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

If I were to be asked to select the best quality a person could have then I would have selected humor without any doubt. I have some reasons and personal experiences to believe so.

Everybody has a sense of humor but the thing is it is just slightly different from person to person. The main benefit of having a good sense of humor is that a person can get fun out of small things that are trivial to other people. And I do not need to say how important humor is for one's mental health. With the help of these small humorous delights, I think one can maintain a proper and a healthy mental life as sometimes by just laughing a lot of tension can be released.

Take for example a situation where your friend is depressed about a problem and there is no way you could help in solving the problem. But what you could do is to help is you can lighten the burden the situation bears on your friend by diverting his/her mind of it and what better way to do so than sharing a heartly laughter with him/her. I have taken such approach so Ican attest that this method helps. Studies actually prove that by having a good laughter, one can easily reduce the stress induced by any kind of problem. You might have also experienced that by just one incidence of good laughter, your whole day could get better. Also between friends, healthy humor is the main reason for bonding which really bring people close and makes them able to relate to each other.

Personally, I found this quality immensly helpful as it helped me to keep my whole family out of stress. There was a time when my family was having some financial issues and my father used to come home all stressed up. So I would cheer him up, as I was blessed with a good sense of humor and this actually helped him to forget his problems for some time. This mainly helped him to think straight and get out of a huge crisis. This is actually the biggest reason I think that having a sense of humor is important to surrvive in today's stressful life.

With all these reasons, I personally believe that humor is the actual medicine to cure a non-physical disease. There are literally clubs being made to carry out this sole purpose and I think this is biggest proof one could give about the importance of sense if humor.