The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of the television station argues that it should take the decision of amending program aback to prevent further revenue loss. The decision she suggests may result in an increase in the revenue as asserted. However, since her reasoning written in the memorandum is somewhat weak, there should be more facts and evidence that cover the loopholes in the argument.

She suggests the proportion of complaints from the viewers as the first reason to increase the weather and local news time to the previous level. However, since the characters of such complaints are in veil, it is highly uncertain that whether their existence can take a role to bolster his conclusion. For instance, the complaints might have been submitted by a single viewer, who is veet ardent in watching whether news. Further, it can be also case that there are a dominating number of viewers who favor national news and keep silent. If this is the case, it is hard to say that there is a potential threat of decrease in the number of people watching the late-night news program, which is implied by the manager. It can also be true, for his luck, there are number of people actually out there who are uncomfortable of the change in the news program's time allocation. However, it is not possible to check which case is true due to the lack of evidence, his argument is hard to say credible.

Another thing to be addressed is the canceled advertising contract. Yes, it is bitter for the company to lose such contract

given that advertisements are the main source of revenue for a broadcasting company. However, one cancellation does not directly mean the collapse of entire company; rather, there might have been the influx of new advertisements, cheering for the change in the news program, which greatly increased the future revenue of the company. This can be true, if the potential advertisements buyers speculate that more national news will induce more viewers, which enhance the effects of the ads. On the other hand, a very opposite case might be true; if the firms believe that the effect of advertisements will epp. The local business which refused to contract with the company might have expected the latter since its main customer pool is likely to locate within the local area, and the decrease in the local news time might imply a decrease in local viewers, which will lead to a decrease in ads. Unfortunately, the very reason why it canceled the contract remain undetermined, and therefore we cannot simply say restoring the program will result in their coming back. Therefore, the manager would get help from providing further data on the reasons of changes in advertising decision of firms.

Even if all of his allegations about the relationship between the news program time distribution and advertising revenue, though doubtful, are true, it does not imply that restoring the previous time table will increase revenue. Suppose, on the other hand, that viewers are sensitive to changes in news program rather than how it is consist. That is, it is possible that viewers want stable news program and that is why the number of them decreased after the news program had changed. However, the manager does not give any reason for predicting the restoration would increase the revenue. Therefore, it may be more important to figure out, rather than simply depending on the conspicuous phenomenon, what is the factor influencing the decision of viewers.

I see the manager has a good intention on the company; she wants to save the company from the reduction in revenue. Though it is very kind of her, and I appreciate that, there are a number of issues to be addressed before making the decision, accepting her opinion, too quickly. Without careful consideration, neither may the company be able to increase the revenue nor it maintain the current one, which is undesirable.