To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society is multifaceted so people can have different opinions on what is the most important characteristics of it. Cultural

factors of a society are often comes to people’s mind since they are highly diversified from society to society, and no one can be independent from those factors when they are belong to a society. They consist of how people living in the society eat, wear, proceed life, and where they live. To figure out the patterns of these complex aspects of a society, big cities would be better candidate to look into than small villages in rural areas.

First of all, metropolitans often contain representative cultural factors of the society. Someone might says that it is often hodge-podge of people from different places so there can barely room for preserving cultural aspects of a society. The reality shows this is not the case. See, for example, Tokyo, the biggest city of Japan. It boasts 16 millions of people from around world, and businesses there are highly globalized. However, once someone travel to this city and live for one or two days he or she would admit that it clearly has its own style and culture. People living there always always love to get lined up when they wait for something, do not hesitant to say sorry when accidently bumping one another. The order of the city is magnificent, and it is made from the way they live: Their culture. Meanwhile, other mega-cities such as Seoul, New York, Paris, San Paulo have its own style generated by the culture of the societies. Hence the claim that it is difficult to find the main characteristics in big cities due to diluted cultures is not quite right.

In addition, globalization enforces the traditional cultural factors, rather than weaken them. People who emphasize the importance of rural area often say that traditional aspects are not easy to survive in big cities; they would diminish by huge buildings, infrastructures, or simply too many people. However, these concerns have been dismissed thanks to the effort of governments which have tried to help traditions in big cities evolve and thrive, rather than phase away. Every day Seoul celebrates the march that the King of Chosun dynasty, the previous kingdom befor Republic of Korea, used to conducted. It is getting fame since the city is trying to conserve every details of the event and advertise to as many people as possible, which availed enough funds for maintain the ritual. Considering that many people living in country are struggling to preserve traditional cultures due to insufficient funds, it is hard to say that big cities are poor in preserving traditions.

Last but not least, Events and decisions that affect the culture of a society mainly happen and are made in big cities. We see that modern cultures of societies are heavily depends on other aspects of the societies: International relations, economy, Politics etc. We also see that the important decisions on these issues are often made in big cites. Congress and big firms are symbolically located in the biggest city of the society. They are opinion-leaders who influences forcefully cultural dynamics of the country. By simply looking at the decision making process in big cities would give you core insights on the characteristics you want to get. Note that all the people working in White House are a kind of cynosures to Americans, in the sense that their decisions are announced within 24 hours to every people living in the country, and their lives are immediately influenced.

Therefore, if you want to efficiently figure out the core part of a society you had better investigat major cities of it. If you want to cover rural area in addition to big cities, that is okay since such behaviors will give you additional information and insights. However, when we are constrained by time and money, it would be better to prioritize and focusing on surveying on big cities.