“Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.”

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Artists have been called as poor since they typically lack financial assistance keeping them focusing on their own works. This was because artworks did not bring them fortunes directly; though artists succeeded in selling their works from time to time, in general people’s willingness to pay was not enough to support them to carry their own lives on, at least their living time. Modern arts often, on the other hand, critically depend on government fundings. In the United States, there is an governmental authority solely working on subsidizing artists, despite the worries on political imbuing over artworks. It seems, however, that with (only) proper schemes that protecting the freedom of expression fundings from the government is a critical aid to have arts thrive.

Some preventative measures, which deter politicians who would try inculcate their dogma into artworks, are definitely needed. Artists and laymen have learned this principle from painful history: governments’ interruption on artists that distorted the spirits of artworks. We can observe this phenomenon even now in some countries such as North Korea or China. Their governments are severely restricting the freedom of artists while granting fundings to those who are docile enough to produce artworks that praising the authorities. The sculptures of the leaders who had ruled, and are ruling North Korea, which are prevalent over the country is a shame on both the nation and artists there. Meanwhile, the United States and European countries such as the Great Britain, Germany, or France have learned from their history that the fundings flowing into art industry and the politics should be strictly separated. So, though various up to the environments they face, they have adopted and developed the double-blinded subsidying policies, which have achieved both the independence of artists and the flourish of national art industry.

People who are worried about the corruptions of arts may be unconsciously assuming that the artists who gets money from the government feel obligated to compensate it by producing works that benefits the funding source, the government. However, this has not been the case historically. Rather, they have been more obsessed in claiming their own expressions, even if they include insults or criticism on the government, and that is exactly what public who agreed with the assistantship intended for. Recall what Picasso did aiming Franco’s dictatorship and how authors in the era of Napoleon described him.

Also, in modern society, artists would get fundings anyway from private sectors, for example, which may cause more severe corruption. Since Andy Warhol’s artworks featuring close relationships between arts and industry, the artists who did not get grants from the government started to work for companies, who provides enough funds to have them produce artworks that propagate the good images of the company. This phenomenon is a still more crucial issue to the purity of arts, since what have been made is distorting the cognition of people on the company. Moreover, there is no difference between the corruption due to governmental funding and private funding in the sense that the independence of artworks do not exist anymore. At least, the government possesses tools to prevent such corruption, as described above, so that public can handle with the interference up to some extent.

Yes, there is risk for governmental funding to harm the purity of artworks, which imply further ramifications on the

freedom of expression. However, with appropriate policies the problem can be somewhat mediated, while without fundings artists would be tempted to condescend to work for conglomerates, which is more undesirable result for the public and the nation.