In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Mimicking is an essential part of learning process: young people closely look through what grown-ups are doing and try to do the same thing. By doing this, they can decrease the risk of making failures and efficiently learn the desired way of behaviors and knowledges. Sometimes there are geniuses who seem to make splendid works from nowhere, but it is hard to say that they conjured up those marvels outside the earth.

Past achievements are often basis for further analysis. This is true even when people try to tumble down an established theory. Such phenomenon is most prominent in mathematics; the theorem in the past is the ground for further researches. The nature of mathematics such that the logic is, as human beings conceive, flawless and completely proved with assumptions the theory adopts. One can assert analysis devised on his own, but even for that case the examinations for those ideas requires the logical methodologies from the past. Theories on continuity are basis for the concept of derivative, and it is grounds for integration, logarithms, or real functions, and so on. Analogous mechanisms exist in other fields, and the theories on a field sometimes become a crucial foundation for a completely different areas.

Interdisciplinary environments today are deepening this tendency; more and more researches and artworks requires previously acknowledged skills and endeavors from other fields. After Samuelson adopted mathematical methods into Economics, whose researches were operated mostly with anecdotal reasonings, the discipline became a field of evidence from real world, though not as precise as Physics of Chemistry. Such adoption was possible since there were well-established statistical, mathematical foundations in the early 20th century. Similar examples are ample in business and sociology, where the coalition of scholars from various fields work together. However, sometimes previous achievements are not the sole factor for the innovations in other field. It should be noted that various aspects of existing knowledges can inspire further works.

Sometimes, failures and dwindlings become fuel for an introduction of pioneering works and researches. When photography became available, artists, especially painters who had devoted themselves in realism works, thought their popularity might decrease; and the prediction was true: Laymen no longer wanted sophisticated brush-touches by masters in realism since they can get even better one with much cheaper costs. That was exactly the timing when artists found their new niche. Instead of sticking on copying what they see around the nature, they decided to delineate their mind. Surrealism, for example, tried to depict the world of dreams that is far from realistic. However, such tries were successful in the sense that there are new, much larger realms to work on for artists. This example qualifies what the speaker says in the prompt; even when people are not inspired by previous achievements, it can be possible to frontier a field. Rather, more broad statements like ‘influenced by previous works’ seem to be more correct.

Therefore, it would be pretty hard to say that one’s achievement is truly his own since his idea might have come from, or at least inspired by other people’s ideas. As Keynes, the most innovative Economist in history, once said “All of us are slaves of previous scholars and researchers lying underground.”