In any profession—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years. The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Generally speaking, it is true that a new leadership after five years of the previous leadership might be refreshing, as stated by the speaker. He or she might save the organization to survive ever after, delivering an innovation to it. However, it is not clear whether these statements hold for every cases, and the former causes the latter with certainty. Hence, one should examine carefully case by case when he decides the leadership transfer system.

First, new leaderships often bring new wind to the organizations, as well as chaos or resists from the members. This is because embryonic relationship between the newcoming leader and members is much weaker than the well-established trust between the former leader and them. Trump, the surprising republican president of the United of States, as stated in the New York Times, has suffered from grasping the White House organization and its human resources since he was a kind of stranger to those who have served Barack Obama, the former democratic president having led the White House for eight years. Though his new ideals on what types of country the America should be is fresh and novel, at least different from those suggested by the previous sovereign, he is still struggling with getting controls over the administration. A reporter of Economists once wrote, “the treacheries and conflicts between the president and officials are the one which have not been observed for dozens of years.”

These cost which arise between two different leaderships imply that there are some cases where stable leading of a powerful boss is more important than innovations and refreshments. In contrast to the presidents of US, the Russian government has enjoyed consistent, powerful decision making by Putin, who has led the country more than 20 years. Though some people in the country are complaining about his near-dictatorship governing and criticizing his treacherous way of confronting political rivals, the dominating proportion of people admit that he is currently the best option to deal with the nation’s complicated foreign affairs with the US, China, and European countries. They believe that a rapid change in the government, as they experienced in 1989 , at the end of the Soviet Union, may weaken the strategic position the country is currently occupying.

For another objection to the assertion of the speaker, on the other extreme, five years may too rigid or too long to achieve effective management. Other than politics there are variety of fields where five years of leaderships are not effective, and rather quick changes in them are better. LA lakers, one of the celebrated professional basketball team in the NBA, once suffered from cacophonies between the director, who had led the team for two seasons and the members. The board of the team made a swift decision that the leadership may not rehabilitate in the short period of time, which have the team verge on losing its chances to proceeds to the champions leagues. So they fired him, and invited another director who eventually led the team to the final match in 2015 . If the former director kept his position for another three or four years, the team may be still struggling with the relationship between him and the players, not to mention the losing hopes for winning.

There are some cases where five years of leaderships are appropriate and effective, and there are quite many examples where a new leader saved the team or organization from its end. However, one should admit that those cases are not universal and, as stated above, many other cases show us that other leading scheme is more proper. Hence, rather than concluding a definite planning for the leaderships, one had better closely examine what situation the organization is facing.