People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human behaviors can be classified into two types: instantaneous behaviors and habitual ones. Instantaneous behaviors take place when people do not have a complete control over their actions due to some reasons such as shocking, unexpected happenings. On the other hand, habitual behaviors are shaped for a long period of time through education, discipline, and experience. Some people argue that though habitual behaviors are largely determined by external forces, those momentums cannot influence instantaneous behaviors. However, these beliefs has some flaws in the sense that there are many counterexamples for both concepts.

It is true that external factors can change one’s habitual behaviors. Think about how we organize our daily life routinely. We get up around eight A.M., commute to work in a suit, say hello to colleagues. All such behaviors are not natural; those have been educated and reinforced through the mechanism of rewards and punishments. Society induce young people to behave in proper ways through disciplines by teachers, instructors or mentors. If such endeavors did not exist, we might not know what to do for the most of situation we face like basic communications. Regarding this, explicitly enforced behaviors are helpful for people since they help them deal with routine situations. However, those are not the only factor that shape our way of living.

Sometimes people intentionally break so-called ‘desired protocol’ established by society, hoping to notice others their feelings of anger, frustrations, and so on. Consider the how artists reacted to the decision of commencing Vietnam War in the 1960s. They deliberately violated the laws, codes, or manners accepted by society to show that they do not agree with the decision. Those ‘Hippy’ people smoked weed, had intercourses outside and male ones grew their hair to show their intention to go back to the natural state, where there is no danger and risk of war. None of such behaviors are determined or intimated by external groups, and rather, they were decided collectively and spontaneously by the people who had the same ideas and wanted to express what they want to show. Hence, what the speaker has said might not be applied to general cases.

Meanwhile, most people allege that external authorities cannot control people’s unconscious minds since those mostly depends on innate desires or instincts. Unfortunately, history says there are possibility of manipulations by government or regime. North Korea, the country ruled by the dictatorship party with the tightest controlling over people’s attitude and behaviors give us the most live, concrete examples. People living there, when they asked about any issues, response mechanically and conclude with an encomium for the authority and their leader, Kim, Jong-Un. They seem to truly believe that the communism is the most superior political system in the world, even though most of them had not higher-level educations on the topic. This situation warns us that with sufficient time, resource, and power, our mind can be brainwashed and unconsciously obey the reign of the party.

Therefore, it might not be true that both types of behaviors can be controlled completely by ourselves or external forces. Rather, there are endless interaction between innate and external entities, and there are tensions and competitions for the driving seat of our mind.