Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Allocating public finance wisely is at paramount of national administration; however tax the authority collects, if it is spendthrift then the country will soon experience deteriorating economy. Since cities have most of the state’s population and cultural aspects, governments are often tempted to distribute lots of money for metropolitan areas. However, such spendings are not always appropriate though there are plenty of cases where cities deserve financial supports from government.

The leader of a country should think over the fundamental rule of budget allocation: if there is money, there should be a reason. In that sense, the reason suggested in the prompt often makes sense. Cities are where a nations characteristics are made, especially when it comes to the case of spiritual traditions. For example, we easily recall that the main spiritual traditions of the United States are frontierism and entrepreneurship. Both spirits were created and started to spread from the biggest cities in the states: New York, Seattle, Chicago, and etc. Those cities boasted citizens who courageously jump into unknown humongous businesses such as train rails, automobiles, and more recently, internet technologies. It is also pointed out that the federal government took an important role in growths of those cities and their spirits. When financial crisis mercilessly threatened those cities in 1929 and 2008, it was the federal government which bailed out them and saved the virtue of the country. As we can see from this historical fact, the government should be a guardian of city economically so that they can thrive and develop the national traditions.

However, it should be noted that it is not always the case that cities dominate local areas in generating national traditions. We also see potentials of rural areas as remarkable as those in cities. Hollywood, once only small, arid town producing low-quality crops such as corn and wheat, is now one of the biggest factory for movie industry. Such amazing would have never been able to grown that far if the government ignored the potentials and enthusiasm for acting of people having living there. Cities attracts talented people, capitals which are supposed to foster the birth of new cultures, and consumers indispensable for large-scale cultural traditions.

Meanwhile, leaders of the government should consider which value they have to put a higher priority. If cultural aspects they would like to give the priority, they must consider the potentials of rural areas and current marginal benefits cities generate from additional investment, as discussed above. However, cultural growth is not the only goal for the government; it must also consider improvements in political, economic, or social facet of the country. Which value would get the highest preference from the governor is heavily depend on, at least under democratic systems, the choice of people expressed in elections. Therefore, the answer for the prompt might vary even severely with people whose virtues and backgrounds are diverse.

Yes, it is difficult for the leader of the country to decide which area should get how much budget; any decision he makes would cause bitter complaints from those who do not get more money. Therefore, it is important for him to establish clear standards for budget managing so that he can support the nations cultural, political, and economic growth.