Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

A nation is made of not only it’s major cities. A nation becomes a nation with all of its cities, towns and villages. The government is there to govern the whole nation, not just the major cities. The statement asserts that the government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are generated and preserved. In my opinion I strongly disagree with the author and his statement for obvious reasons.

First of all, the author's statement that the city is the primary place where the cultural tradition of a nation is generated and preserved is not true at all. A nation's culture lives and breathes in its villages. A city is where culture and values suffocate surrounded by buildings and people running around who does not have time to stop. For example, we can talk about Bangladesh. Bangladesh is a country of culture, color and beauty. Villages of these country produced poet like Kazi Nazrul Islam, artists like Joynul Abedin. Villages are the place where we have shepherds lying under a tree playing his flute, or singing a song. So saving cultural traditions is the purpose then saving the villages should be the priority.

Additionally, the government is not in a position to decide what parts of the nation need to survive and which parts are not. They are there to govern the whole nation. Their duty is to save, to improve the whole nation. Even if they decide to do that, they choose the city to save, this approach can backfire in so many ways. For instance, let’s say there’s an agricultural country, where it’s government decide to save the city, and abandon the villages, what will happen? Village is the place where agriculture and farming mostly happens, hey just left the nation’s main source of income and livelihood, and also the place where the culture of the nation resides for dead. There’s no doubt that the country will suffer greatly for this.