Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The assertion states that laws should be flexible and considerate of various circumstances, times, and places. I agree with the authors opinion to some extent, but we also have to consider that the law should not be too much flexible and tractable, if that happens it will be quite difficult, even impossible to apply these laws properly. There are some situations where the laws should be rigid.

Laws are fixed and rigid most of the time, and there is a very good reason for that. It helps to keep people especially the restive ones in line. People feel an apprehrension and intimidation that if they break laws then they will be punished for that. That's what maintains order and prevent chaos. If the laws were flexible and always being changed however anyone sees fit, people wouldn't feel this fear about breaking the law. There would be only chaos and tumult in the society, and no order. And that is even scary to think about.

However, I agree with the author that there are certain times and situations, when laws should be flexible, and if they aren't it could bring about the chaos the laws are there to prevent in the first place. It could even be cruel and inhumane in some cases. For example, let's think about a father taking his child to the hospital. The child is in serious condition. There is a possibilty that he will break one or two traffic laws while rushing to the hospital. Whatever the situation is, breaking a law is punishable, that's true, but if the judge and judy do not consider this kind of cases and even do not consider to lessen the punishment or fine, the person would loose his respect for the law and order. After all, the laws are there for the people, to ensure that the people are leading a good and peaceful life. So, if laws do not consider for this kinds of sensitive situations, people would loose respect for the laws and feel demured to follow the rules.

In conclusion, I'd like to say that laws should tough and rigid, it is necessary, to maintain order and to prevent the society from becoming tumultous and chaotic. But I do agree with the author that there are some circumstaces and times when the laws should be flexible in order to protect the very order they are there to protect.