Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Humans are the greatest creatures of all known creations, and they have become that by learning, improvising, evaluating their past and correcting their mistakes. The statement asserts that understanding the past is not much useful to those who are current positions of leadership. I have to disagree with the author on that. Men can learn a lot of things from their past and use these knowledge to make better decisions in the future, and this also applies to the leaders currently in position of power.

humans are always curious, they are always trying to learn something, to achieve something. And if they fail to achieve their goals, they always try to find out what mistakes they made, so that they can correct them and get a step closer to their goals. They have achived so many things, and it was possible because they understood their past, and learnt from it. So, thinking that understanding one's past is of little use would be a grave mistake.

But, The authors statement has merit if interpreted in a different way. One might say that what good will it do to understand the past if this knowledge is of no use. and That is true, Just understanding the past will not be of much use, not for those in current position of leadership, not for anyone, if they don't learn from it, don't use the knowledge gained by evaluating the past. But that is not enough to justify the statement made by the author. It is the duty of a leader to make use of these knowledge and to make better decisions for his people. The characteristic of a great leader is, he is always trying to be a better leader for his people, he is always giving his best, always learing from his mistakes, mistakes made by his predecessors. History is a compulsory lesson for any great leader. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the greatest leader Bangladesh have ever seen, or Mahatma Gandhi, every great leader has become great by learnig from the past, and thus making a better future.

No one is impeccable, everyone makes mistakes, and understanding the past is the way to be able to make better choices, to be able to evade these mistakes. Even animal learns from their past. A study has shown that if a certain kind of behavior, or going to a certain place gets animals into trouble, they will always try to avoid that behavior or that path later on.

In conclusion, I'd say that understanding the past is of great use to a leader, to us, if we are willing to use that understandings, and trying to make ourselves better, and to make our future better. Developement of a country depends on a leader, a leader who understand the past, learns from the past mistakes, and tries to make himself better. Understanding the past is the only way to make the best use of the present, amd to make a better future.